Why I Know So Little

Whatcha doing Mom?

Whatcha doing Mom?

“Good teachers are those who know how little they know. Bad teachers are those who think they know more than they don’t know.”  R. Verdi

The title of my blog comes from the above quote. I thought that the quote was quite appropriate because I really want to be a good teacher.  The longer I teach, I do realize how little I know, which is completely opposite of what I thought it would be like to be a teacher.  I remember being a student teacher and feeling completely and utterly overwhelmed.  I said to myself (numerous times), “This will be so much easier when I am a teacher.”  How wrong I was.  Teaching doesn’t really get easier.  It gets more involved every year.  Yes, choosing the methods to teach with and analyzing data becomes easier with practice, but students are so different from year to year that I feel like I have to relearn everything each year.  Is it just me or do other teachers feel the same way?

The great thing is that I’ve joined a few social networks in the past few months, such as Twitter.  From the people that I connect with, I have learned a lot.  I have:

  • collected hundreds (at least) of sites that I have bookmarked and tried to remember to use in my lessons
  • learned about VoiceThread and used it with my students  (See here)
  • Skyped with another 4th grade class in New Orleans.  (Thanks Ms. Naugle)
  • participated in a few webinars which have taught me even more
  • started blogging with my students (Classroom blog)

These are just some of the many things I have learned to do thanks to my PLN.  However, I truly realize that these activities and ideas are just the tip of the iceberg.  There is so much more that I don’t know and I think/hope that it will always be that way.  I don’t ever want to stop learning.  My students need someone who is excited and passionate about new ideas.  Without that enthusiasm, my students would stop succeeding and so would I.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by MsStewart on 6 May 2009 at 9:13 am

    Great idea to use VoiceThread for a retrospective of your field trip!

    Reply

  2. I love your quote and title. I too, feel like I don’t know much of anything at all and I consider that a good thing. I am so glad to see you blogging and I can’t wait to see what other wonderful things you will write about.

    Carey

    Reply

  3. Cultivating a PLN is a huge step forward in my book. Thanks for sharing your first ever blog post on Twitter. The more you realize you don’t know everything, the smarter you are. We are all perpetual learners, and our PLN is a daily reminder of this. Excellent quote up there at the beginning of your post! Great way to introduce your blog too.

    Reply

  4. Posted by jdeyenberg on 6 May 2009 at 8:03 pm

    Congrats on the blog and putting yourself out there – keep up the insightful posts.

    Reply

  5. Congratulations on your first blog posting. I love your title and share your sentiment. It seems the more I learn about teaching and learning the more I discover what is still left for me to learn. Rather than making me feel overwhelmed, the huge sea of knowledge left for me to swim in is invigorating because I realize there is still some technique, some key, perhaps just about to be shared by a member of my PLN that will be just what I need to reach that student I still haven’t learned enough to reach.

    Reply

  6. Posted by Mary Rodger on 6 May 2009 at 10:56 pm

    What a great first blog! I admire the way you have taken all of the things you have learned from your PLN and used them so effectively in your teaching. You are a role model for your students and your fellow teachers. Your sharing is an inspiration to those of us who are still trying to figure out what to do with all this new stuff! I’m looking forward to reading future posts.

    Reply

  7. Posted by Melhutch on 10 May 2009 at 4:48 pm

    You sum it all up so well- I am so excited about learning all of these new things- and seeing the excitement in our students. I feel just like you- I know so very little- but I’m learning!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

